Barrier materials and next-generation sorbents

Summary:

An urgent problem of nuclear industry is the management of radioactive waste (RW) of variouscompositions, and ways to isolate them from the biosphere.

One of the industrial methods for treatment of aqueous solutions containing radionuclides is sorption that allows one to extract or separate the target components. The scientific task of this area of research is to develop scientific bases for the technology where different promising nanomaterials are applied for effective extraction of long-lived radionuclides (actinides and fission products) from aqueous solutions of various composition. Currently, we are performing the research with such nanomaterials as graphene oxide, various REE phosphates, titanium oxide, etc.

RW isolation requires the creation of a multi-barrier safety system according to the radiation safety requirements and international radioactive waste management regulations. The material of an engineering barrier must limit the inflow of ground water into the repository of radioactive waste, reduce the corrosion rate of RW-containing containers and matrices, and limit radionuclide migration into the environment. One of the most prospective components of engineering barriers are bentonite clays (bentonites), possessing high sorption and low water permeability properties, as well as various composite materials based on them. Sorption and diffusion properties of various barrier materials – clay minerals and host rock components – are being investigated as part of our work.


Main scientific results:

  • Radionuclide interaction with graphene oxide has been studied in details. It was shown that during sorption on graphene oxide radionuclides are preferably interact with carboxyl groups located in defects of  layers’ planes. Based on this result, graphene oxide with predominantly carboxyl surface groups has been synthesized, which led to an increase of radionuclide sorption by more than 15 times. To minimize the volume of subsequent radioactive waste repository, individual conditions to anneal graphene oxide samples after sorption of certain elements have been determined.
  • It was demonstrated that increase of pH values in bentonite clay/ water systems promotes the sorption of Np(V) and Eu(III), and have almost no effect on the sorption of Cs(I). The increase in the ionic strength of the solution decreases the sorption of Cs(I) and Eu(III) and has almost no effect on the sorption of Np(V). It has been established that for Cs(I), the main chemical reaction occurring at the interface of bentonite clay/water phase is the ion exchange, complex formation with edge centers being the most characteristic for Np(V), with Eu(III) sorbed by both mechanisms. Thermodynamic modeling of the obtained experimental dependencies of radionuclide sorption has been performed. As a result, equilibrium constants of sorption reactions have been calculated.
  • It has been determined that Cs(I) sorption varies depending on the individual characteristics of bentonite clays and considerably depends on the degree of heterovalent substitutions in smectite tetrahedral sublattice. It was found that the presence of goethite impurity in clays leads to a significant increase in Np(V) and Eu(III) sorption, but  has no effect on cesium sorption. At the same time, the presence of competing cations in the solution significantly decreases the sorption of Cs(I).
  • The contribution of each individual mineral to radionuclide sorption on the surface of granite has been determined and a semi-automated approach to the processing of radiographic data images developed.

Selected publications:

1. N. Boulanger, A.S. Kuzenkova, A. Iakunkov, A. Romanchuk, A.L. Trigub, A.V. Egorov, S. Bauters, L. Amidani, M. Retegan, K.O. Kvashnina, S.N. Kalmykov, A.V. Talyzin. Enhanced sorption of radionuclides by defect-rich graphene oxide // ACS applied materials & interfaces, 2020, DOI: 10.1021/acsami.0c11122 (IF: 8,758)
2. A. Kuzenkova, A.Yu. Romanchuk, A.L. Trigub, K.I. Maslakov, A.V. Egorov, A. Amidani, C. Kittrell, K.O. Kvashnina, J.M. Tour, A.V. Talyzin, S.N. Kalmykov. New insights into the mechanism of graphene oxide and radionuclide interaction // Carbon, 2020, DOI 10.1016/j.carbon.2019.10.003 (IF: 7,466)
3. P.K. Verma, A.S. Semenkova, V.V. Krupskaya, S.V. Zakusin, P.K. Mohapatra, A.Yu. Romanchuk, S.N. Kalmykov. Eu(III) sorption onto various montmorillonites: Experiments and modeling // Applied Clay Science, 2019, DOI: 10.1016/j.clay.2019.03.001 (IF: 3,641)
4. V.G. Petrov, I.E. Vlasova, A.A. Rodionova, V.O. Yapaskurt, V.V. Korolev, V.A. Petrov, V.V. Poluektov, H. Jörg, S.N. Kalmykov. Preferential sorption of radionuclides on different mineral phases typical for host rocks at the site of the future Russian high level waste repository // Applied Geochemistry, 2019, DOI: 10.1016/j.apgeochem.2018.11.007 (IF: 2.903)
5. A.S. Semenkova, A.Yu. Romanchuk, V.V. Krupskaya, B.V. Pokidko, O.V. Dorzhieva, A.V. Sobolev, I.A. Presnyakov, P.K. Verma, P.K. Mohapatra, S.N. Kalmykov. Np(V) uptake by various clays // Applied Geochemistry, 2018, DOI: 10.1016/j.apgeochem.2018.02.006 (IF: 2,58)
6. P.K. Verma, A.Yu. Romanchuk, I.E. Vlasova, V.V. Krupskaya, S.V. Zakusin, A.V. Sobolev, A.V. Egorov, P.K. Mohapatra, S.N. Kalmykov. Np(V) uptake by bentonite clay: Effect of accessory Fe oxides/hydroxides on sorption and speciation // Applied Geochemistry, 2017, DOI: 10.1016/j.apgeochem.2016.12.009 (IF: 2,58)
7. A.Yu. Romanchuk, A.S. Slesarev, S.N. Kalmykov, D.V. Kosynkin, J.M. Tour. Graphene oxide for effective radionuclide removal // Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, 2013, DOI: 10.1039/C2CP44593J (IF: 3,829)

Барьерные материалы и перспективные сорбенты

Аннотация:

Актуальной проблемой ядерной энергетики является разработка методов обращения с различными по составу радиоактивными отходами (РАО) и способы изоляции их от биосферы.

Одними из технологичных методов обращения с водными растворами, содержащими радионуклиды, являются сорбционные методы, позволяющие выделить либо разделить необходимые компоненты раствора. Научной задачей работ в рамках данного направления является разработка научных основ технологий применения различных перспективных наноматериалов, для эффективного извлечения долгоживущих радионуклидов (актинидов и основных продуктов деления) из водных растворов различного состава. На данный момент ведется исследование таких наноматериалов, как оксид графена, различные фосфаты РЗЭ, оксид титана и др.

В соответствии с требованиями радиационной̆ безопасности и международными нормами обращения с РАО, при их изоляции требуется создание мультибарьерной системы безопасности. Материал инженерного барьера должен ограничивать поступления природной воды в хранилище, снижать уровни коррозии контейнеров и матриц, включающих РАО, а также ограничивать миграцию радионуклидов окружающую среду. Одним из наиболее перспективных компонентов инженерных барьеров считаются бентонитовые глины (бентониты), обладающие высокими сорбционными свойствами и низкой водопроницаемостью, а также различные композиционные материалы на их основе. В рамках данного направления работы исследуются сорбционных и миграционных свойства различных барьерных материалов: глинистых минералов и компонентов вмещающих пород.


Основные научные результаты:

  • Подробно исследуется взаимодействие радионуклидов с оксидом графена (ОГ). Было показано, что взаимодействие радионуклидов при сорбции на ОГ предпочтительно происходит с карбоксильными группами, расположенными в дефектах на плоскости листа. На основании этого результата был синтезирован ОГ с преимущественно карбоксильными группами на поверхности, что привело к увеличению сорбции радионуклидов более, чем в 15 раз. Для минимизации объёма образца и дальнейшего захоронения радионуклида, индивидуально для каждого изученного элемента были подобраны условия отжига ОГ после сорбции.
  • Показано, что увеличение рН системы бентонитовая глина/вода повышает сорбцию Np(V) и Eu(III), при этом практически не влияет на сорбцию Cs(I). Повышение ионной силы раствора понижает сорбцию Cs(I) и Eu(III) и практически не влияет на сорбцию Np(V). Установлено, что основными химическими реакциями, протекающими на границе раздела фаз бентонитовая глина/вода для Сs(I) является ионный обмен, для Np(V) наиболее характерно комплексообразование с краевыми центрами, а Eu(III) сорбируется по обоими механизмам. Проведено термодинамическое моделирование полученных экспериментальных зависимостей сорбции радионуклидов, в результате чего были рассчитаны константы равновесия сорбционных реакций
  • Показано, что сорбция Cs(I) меняется в зависимости от индивидуальных особенностей бентонитовых глин и значительно зависит от степени гетеровалентных замещений в тетраэдрической подрешетке смектита. Установлено, что присутствие примеси гетита в составе глин приводит к значительному повышению сорбции Np(V) и Eu(III), но не оказывает влияние на сорбцию цезия. При этом наличие конкурирующих катионов в растворе значительно понижает сорбцию Cs(I).
  • Был определен вклад каждого отдельного минерала в сорбцию радионуклидов на поверхности гранита, а также разработан полуавтоматический подход к обработке снимков радиографических данных.

Избранные публикации:

1. N. Boulanger, A.S. Kuzenkova, A. Iakunkov, A. Romanchuk, A.L. Trigub, A.V. Egorov, S. Bauters, L. Amidani, M. Retegan, K.O. Kvashnina, S.N. Kalmykov, A.V. Talyzin. Enhanced sorption of radionuclides by defect-rich graphene oxide // ACS applied materials & interfaces, 2020, DOI: 10.1021/acsami.0c11122 (Импакт-фактор: 8,758)
2. A. Kuzenkova, A.Yu. Romanchuk, A.L. Trigub, K.I. Maslakov, A.V. Egorov, A. Amidani, C. Kittrell, K.O. Kvashnina, J.M. Tour, A.V. Talyzin, S.N. Kalmykov. New insights into the mechanism of graphene oxide and radionuclide interaction // Carbon, 2020, DOI 10.1016/j.carbon.2019.10.003 (Импакт-фактор: 7,466)
3. P.K. Verma, A.S. Semenkova, V.V. Krupskaya, S.V. Zakusin, P.K. Mohapatra, A.Yu. Romanchuk, S.N. Kalmykov. Eu(III) sorption onto various montmorillonites: Experiments and modeling // Applied Clay Science, 2019, DOI: 10.1016/j.clay.2019.03.001 (Импакт-фактор: 3,641)
4. V.G. Petrov, I.E. Vlasova, A.A. Rodionova, V.O. Yapaskurt, V.V. Korolev, V.A. Petrov, V.V. Poluektov, H. Jörg, S.N. Kalmykov. Preferential sorption of radionuclides on different mineral phases typical for host rocks at the site of the future Russian high level waste repository // Applied Geochemistry, 2019, DOI: 10.1016/j.apgeochem.2018.11.007 (Импакт-фактор: 2.903)
5. A.S. Semenkova, A.Yu. Romanchuk, V.V. Krupskaya, B.V. Pokidko, O.V. Dorzhieva, A.V. Sobolev, I.A. Presnyakov, P.K. Verma, P.K. Mohapatra, S.N. Kalmykov. Np(V) uptake by various clays // Applied Geochemistry, 2018, DOI: 10.1016/j.apgeochem.2018.02.006 (Импакт-фактор: 2,58)
6. P.K. Verma, A.Yu. Romanchuk, I.E. Vlasova, V.V. Krupskaya, S.V. Zakusin, A.V. Sobolev, A.V. Egorov, P.K. Mohapatra, S.N. Kalmykov. Np(V) uptake by bentonite clay: Effect of accessory Fe oxides/hydroxides on sorption and speciation // Applied Geochemistry, 2017, DOI: 10.1016/j.apgeochem.2016.12.009 (Импакт-фактор: 2,58)
7. A.Yu. Romanchuk, A.S. Slesarev, S.N. Kalmykov, D.V. Kosynkin, J.M. Tour. Graphene oxide for effective radionuclide removal // Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, 2013, DOI: 10.1039/C2CP44593J (Импакт-фактор: 3,829)